Okay, this week we’ve got a grab-bag of films I’ve checked or re-checked out. I’ve been cramming for some of the upcoming profiles and Top 10s as well, so I’ll leave those films out until next week. Also, don’t forget to check out my reflix review of The Rocker earlier in the week – definitely worth a view over. This Friday’s flicks are Choke, Young@Heart, Bigger Stronger Faster, and Transporter 3.

 

                                                                                                                            

Choke

Recap – A sex-addict cons people by pretending to choke and then plays on his saviours’ sympathies to pay his mother’s medical bills.

Review – 4/10

Reflix – This was probably one of the worst films I’ve seen in a long time. I know that my review of Be Cool in the Reflix Profile this week was pretty scathing, but that was out of anger and disgust. This time, its more about the film itself. I have to say, I was one of the few people who didn’t like Fight Club. I thought it was pretty predictable (there were so many clues how could you not see it coming?) and I was ultimately disappointed with the film overall. This one is right up the same alley – its a predictable, pointless film which has no real value. The story is pretty poor and if you’ve seen it once, there is absolutely no reason to go back to it. In fact, I’m surprised that fans of the book even considered seeing this film – although I’m not surprised it made less than $4 million in theatres. I doubt the DVD sales pushed this close to the $10 million mark – its really not worth spending money on. Aside form the story, the acting is pretty poor as well, which is surprising because Sam Rockwell is usually such a great actor. Also, the sex-addict angle was poorly utilized and should either been better integrated or just taken out altogether. I just don’t know what else to say – this film not only not reflixable, its not worth your time – please don’t waste $5 renting this, you’d do much better with the other films in the Friday Flashback. Reflixability – Coaster.

 

Young@Heart

Recap – A documentary following a choir which sings rock songs as they prepare for a show – except the average age of the choice is 83!

Review – 6/10

Reflix – As a lover of documentaries, I was excited to see this film – I had heard a lot about this movie and I was worried about disappointed expectations. However, I ended up being pleasantly surprised. The documentary isn’t anything special compared to some other docs I’ve seen, especially since its just a feature release of a TV special, but its still done well nonetheless. Like all documentaries, its the story that counts and this story is both uplifting and inspiring. You’ve never seen people with such zeal for life as these seniors have – they are still as determined, tenacious and excited by the prospect of singing in front of a large group and getting that little bit of recognition. But most of all, they just love what they’re doing and thats what makes this reflixable. I don’t know if I would watch it multiple times a year, but I definitely think its worth watching at least once, maybe a few times if you get really attached to the story. I think there is a lot to learn from this film and you’ll probably end up choosing one of the choir members and following them through the film. There are ups and downs in this film – you’ll find yourself cheering with the choir, sharing in their losses, and wondering if they will succeed. This is definitely worth at least one view. Reflixability – Frisbee.

 

Bigger, Stronger, Faster

Recap – A documentary focused on steroid use in America and how it affects three brothers.

Review – 7/10

Reflix – Another documentary that I had seen advertised but hadn’t had a chance to go and see in theatres. This film is actually really well done at the same level as Super Size Me or any of the Moore-films. I really enjoyed Chris Bell‘s take on things – he does a great job analyzing the current state of steroid use in America, the truths and the lies behind the data and shares his own troubles as a first-time documentary filmmaker. This film really made me think and I know I’l be watching this one again. I like films that challenge my perception and understanding of a topic and force me to rethink something, so when I watched this film, I was impressed. He really gets you chewing over your stance on drugs and sport. His take as a documentarian is refreshing and I think that anyone who likes the direction the modern documentary has been going, will like this film. Reflixability – Blue Moon.

 

Transporter 3

Recap – Frank Martin is back in fine form trying to deliver a European minister’s daughter to a conference for a man who holds her hostage.

Review – 7/10

Reflix – Of all of the films this week, this is the one I might purchase. I think its definitely a film I’ll watch again – I love Jason Statham, I love the action in the film (as ridiculous as some of it is), and I love the stunts they pull off. The only thing that is lacking in this film is the female lead – she’s really poor and I don’t know why they chose her. I really think that if you leave her out of the equation, you have a great film which is exciting, fresh and well worth watching again. There are some great scenes here: Frank against a dozen men in a mechanics garage, his incredible driving between some Mack trucks and the final battle scene on a moving train is wild. The bad guy here is Robert Knepper, better known as T-Bag to you Prison Break fans, and I think his performance is fantastic as the bad guy. I would love to see him in more films of this nature – he has a scintillating, electric presence which makes his bad guy well worth seeing. I also like the buddy relationship Martin has developed with Inspector Tarconi – its a welcome surprise that just adds more depth to the film. While its not as good as some other action flicks, I still think its a worthy addition to the action-film spectrum that you will get a good few hours of enjoyment out of. Reflixability – Boomerang.